AGNSLS Eligibility Requirements

Eligibility is extended to any bona fide Arkansas resident enrolled in an Arkansas accredited graduate nursing program that leads to a master’s or doctoral degree in nursing.  An applicant must be a person of good moral character, good academic standing, and in need of financial assistance to complete his or her nursing studies.  The individual must be participating in one of the following master’s nursing programs in preparation for becoming a nurse practitioner/clinical nurse specialist or for working in public/community health, nursing administration, or nursing education. Or, the applicant may be enrolled in the UAMS PhD in Nursing program. The award recipient must commit to practice full-time as a nurse practitioner or clinical nurse specialist in Arkansas, serve as a nursing administrator in an Arkansas complex health care agency, teach full-time in an Arkansas school of nursing, or work full-time in the Arkansas Department of Health. Each applicant must be approved by the Graduate Nurse Educator Loan and Scholarship Board.

Students who already hold a master’s degree in nursing and are returning for a post-master’s certification are not eligible to apply.

Eligible Nursing Programs in Arkansas

  • Arkansas State University (ASU)
  • Arkansas Tech University (ATU)
  • Harding University (HU)
  • University of Central Arkansas (UCA)
  • University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS)
  • University of Arkansas at Fayetteville (U of A)