June 3, 2014

Graduate School Honors

CON Graduate School BrunchThe UAMS College of Nursing racked up awards at UAMS commencement held last weekend. Dr. Jean McSweeney (far right), College of Nursing Associate Dean for Research, was presented the Outstanding Graduate Faculty Award, presented by Dr. Bobby McGehee (far left), Dean of the UAMS Graduate School. It is the highest award given to a faculty member of the Graduate School.

Dr. Christina Pettey (second from left), a recent nursing PhD graduate and clinical assistant professor at the College of Nursing, was chosen by Dr. McGehee to speak at the Graduate School brunch held Saturday, May 17. In addition to receiving her PhD, Christina received the Outstanding Future Nurse Leader Award and the Dr. Eric Ashworth Hodges’ Award for Best Dissertation. Christina will be featured as the New Investigator in the July issue of the International Society of Hypertension newsletter. Also pictured is College of Nursing Dean Lorraine Frazier (second from right).