November 30, 2016

CON SNA Chapter Earns Top Awards at State Convention

The UAMS College of Nursing’s Student Nurses Association earned a clean sweep in the top categories at this year’s Arkansas Nursing Students’ Association State Convention, winning most outstanding chapter, advisor of the year and student of the year.  The annual convention was held Oct. 5-7 in Little Rock.  The College of Nursing’s SNA chapter continued a year of success and accolades, earning the Chapter of Excellence Award. Earlier this year, it was one of eight to receive the National Stellar Chapter Award for its leadership, involvement

Students Mary Jo Heye, Victoria Whitson, Crystallyne Hartwick with Assistant Professor Beverly English, MNSc, RN

Students Mary Jo Heye, Victoria Whitson, Crystallyne Hartwick with Assistant Professor Beverly English, MNSc, RN

in the professional organization and service to the community, the second time the chapter has been recognized for this award, given every five years.

Crystallyne Hartwick, a BSN student, was named Student of the Year. Hartwick serves as president of the college’s chapter and is director of District 1 for the Arkansas Nursing Students’ Association Board of Directors.  “I am proud to represent my class and UAMS, and am grateful for their nominating and supporting me,” said Hartwick. “I am very honored to have received this award.”

Beverly English, MNSc, RN, clinical assistant professor in the college who is in her second year as an advisor, was named Chapter Advisor of the Year.  “I was very surprised and honored to even be nominated,” she said. “Receiving the award was an incredibly humbling experience.”

Mary Jo Heye, a BSN student, was a recipient of a $1,000 ANSA scholarship. Heye is a non-traditional student who was drawn to the nursing profession after her oldest of five sons died unexpectedly, due to medical error.  Heye, a single mom who is also a city council member in Sherwood and takes part in other volunteer activities, said the scholarship was a pleasant surprise.  “Winning this unexpected award and scholarship allows me to breathe a little easier,” said Heye. “My son continues to be my angel and constant source of inspiration. He compels me to want to make a difference in the world, to touch lives in big and small ways.”

As part of the convention, new officeholders and directors were elected to the board, including Victoria Whitson, a BSN student, who was elected treasurer. Whitson said she wanted to run to make sure UAMS continued to be represented on the state board.  “I love NSNA’s mission to promote our professional, well-rounded nursing students and contribute to charitable causes,” said Whitson. “I can’t wait to help work on new fundraising ideas and resolutions to improve the health of Arkansans and the communities in it.”

The Arkansas Nursing Students’ Association was founded in 1953 and is an official constituent of the National Student Nurses’ Association. It’s meant to organize and support nursing students and promote development of skills the students will need throughout their careers.