Graduate Scholarships

Becky Moore Endowed Scholarship
This scholarship was established in Becky Moore’s memory by her parents, John and Margaret Heuston. It supports graduate nursing students.

AARP Book Stipend Award
This award was created from the New to You Program by the AARP Chapter in Little Rock, Arkansas. It supports graduate students who have an interest in geriatrics.

Deborah Dorsa Carman Endowed Scholarship
The Deborah Dorsa Carman Scholarship supports students experiencing financial barriers enrolled at UAMS College of Nursing or Graduate School pursuing an advanced degree in nursing. The applicant must have successfully completed two courses in their current program to be eligible for this award. The honoree requests that preference be given to applicants who plan to practice, teach and/or conduct research to improve the health of infants or children.

Cornelia Sundermann Endowed Scholarship
This scholarship was established by faculty, staff, friends, and family of Mrs. Cornelia Sundermann, faculty emeritus of the College of Nursing. This scholarship is awarded to graduate students demonstrating academic excellence and financial need.

Dr. and Mrs. William Pool Endowed Scholarship
This scholarship was established by Marion Pool who served as Professor and Chairman of Public Health Nursing at UAMS from 1957-1960. This scholarship supports full-time graduate students who are currently Arkansas residents who demonstrate financial need and intend to practice in Arkansas following graduation. If no full-time student qualifies it can be awarded to a part-time graduate student.

Dr. Sheila Collier Horner Endowed Scholarship
Dr. Sheila Horner was a Clinical Assistant Professor at the College of Nursing. Family, friends, and colleagues established this scholarship in her memory. It supports graduate students demonstrating financial need.

Janet Smith Rooker Neuroscience Nursing Endowed Scholarship
This scholarship was established by Jan Rooker, clinical associate professor at the College of Nursing, and her husband Jeff in honor of Jan’s love for and commitment to Neuroscience Nursing. The scholarship is awarded to a graduate student who expresses a commitment to a career in neuroscience nursing and who has an excellent academic record in the College of Nursing.

Mary Emma Smith Endowed Scholarship
Mary Emma Smith was a pioneer in nursing, who dedicated her career to public health nursing and the establishment of the collegiate nursing education program in the state. This scholarship is awarded to graduate students who may be experiencing financial barriers.

Virginia Ivey Penick Endowed Scholarship
Ms. Virginia Penick, a founding member of the UAMS College of Nursing’s Advisory Board, established this scholarship with the support of her family and friends. It is awarded to graduate nursing students demonstrating financial need. Priority is given to students from the following Arkansas counties: Bradley, Calhoun, Cleveland, and Drew.