August 8, 2017

Dean Cowan Elected to CCNE Nominating Committee

Aug. 08, 2017 | Patricia A. Cowan, PhD, RN, dean of the UAMS College of Nursing, was elected to the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE) Nominating Committee for 2018.

Cowan is one of five elected to the committee, which includes deans, assistant deans, professors and assistant professors from nursing programs in Arkansas, Missouri, Florida, Texas and Illinois. The committee evaluates and assesses those who apply to be on the board of commissioners and nominating committee.

Terms for nominating committee members begin Jan. 1 and last one year. Each year, an incumbent member is selected for a second-year term to serve as chair.

“Two driving forces in my leadership journey have been the motivation to serve and to have a meaningful impact within the profession, organization and community,” said Cowan. “Serving on the CCNE nominating committee provides the opportunity to contribute to the profession by identifying exceptional candidates for the CCNE Board of Commissioners who will set standards for and monitor the quality of nursing programs. I am honored to serve on the committee.”

CCNE serves higher education institutions and acute care hospitals throughout the United States for the purpose of ensuring the quality and integrity of baccalaureate, graduate and residency programs in nursing. It is recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education as a national accreditation agency.

In 2015, UAMS was granted maximum accreditation for its BSN, master’s, post-master’s advanced practice certificate and DNP programs.